Terms of use



Singers: Renée Fleming

Renée Fleming was born on Valentine's Day, 1959, in Rochester, New York.

August 2014

In October 2014 American soprano Renée Fleming releases her first-ever holiday album entitled Christmas in New York.

Guest artists include, Alison Krauss, Gregory Porter, Kurt Elling, Chris Botti, Joshua Bell, Brad Mehldau and Wynton Marsalis.

The release of the album will be supported by Renée's appearance on the broadcast of Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade followed by a confirmed December pledge PBS Christmas Special first air date being December 4th, 2014.

While Renée is known mostly as an opera singer, her career has encompassed numerous genres and styles of singing. For Christmas in New York, Renée sings in a more intimate style.


Christmas in New York, CD,

Christmas in New York, CD,

Christmas in New York, CD,

March 2014

About the new production of The Merry Widow for the 2014-2015 season of the Metropolitan Opera:


2010 entries

Renee Fleming's upcoming CD Dark Hope is scheduled for release in the United States on June 8, 2010, says The singer covers songs by Muse, Arcade Fire, The Mars Volta, Death Cab For Cutie, Leonard Cohen, Band Of Horses, and more.

The track listings are:

1. Stepping Stone (Duffy)
2. No One's Gonna Love You (Band Of Horses)
3. Soul Meets Body (Death Cab For Cutie)
4. Today (Jefferson Airplane)
5. Oxygen (Willy Mason)
6. With Twilight As My Guide (The Mars Volta)
7. Intervention (Arcade Fire)
8. Mad World (Tears For Fears)
9. Endlessly (Muse)
10. In Your Eyes (Peter Gabriel)
11. Hallelujah (Leonard Cohen)

An article at says that "Fleming is joined in the studio by her two daughters and her sister, who provide backup vocals on a few tracks." had had an article entitled "Opera dive Fleming to release 'Hope'" but has changed the title to "Opera star Fleming to release 'Hope.'"


The book Living Opera by Joshua Jampol contains a chapter "Renée Fleming, or balancing on the high wire."


"The New Depths of Renée Fleming" by Jason Victor Serinus, December 6, 2009, San Francisco Classical Voice



CD and DVD

Renee Fleming, iTunes